The Throne Room

An allegory explaining why Jesus died to redeem mankind

Long, long ago before the first humans were even created an assembly was called in the heavenlies.  In the throne room of God were the Father, the Son, Satan and all the angels remaining after the great angelic rebellion.  Satan had told God “I will not serve you” and vowed to become the Enemy of God, the Usurper,  the hater of God and all who love Him.  The angels who had rebelled with Satan were not present.

Before them played the vision of human history, from the creation, through the rebellion of mankind, and all that happened after that.

“I want them back”, said the Father.

“But they are mine”, cried Satan.  “They chose me because I promised they could be like God.  That sealed it.  Because they chose me, they are mine!”

The Father replied, “That was your sin too, Satan.  You wanted to be your own God.  Do you not realize I could destroy you in a moment and take them back?”

“But that would not be justice”, sneered Satan.  “You claim to be perfectly just.  You can’t destroy me to take what is rightfully mine!  I won this battle!  They chose me freely.  They are mine.  And I care only to destroy them now because you seem to treasure them, claiming even to love them.  Accept that I have won against you.  Admit defeat!”

“Justice must be served” agreed the Father.  “Very well then, I will purchase them back from you.  Name your price.”

Somewhat taken aback, Satan thought for a long time, then grinned.  “Surely you know I will set the price very high.  I demand you become one of them and enter their world.  You will be rejected by many of them, and then killed.  Lets see, not just any death will do, either.  How about a Roman cross?  And before the crucifixion, a Roman scourging, a crown of thorns, slapping, beating with sticks, being spit upon.  Then as you hang in agony struggling in pain to breathe, you will have the knowledge that most of them will stay with me anyway, because they like the sense of control I give them.  You will never do all that!  You could never love the wretched things that much!”

“I accept your price”, said the Father.

Shocked, Satan shouted “You will never follow through with it.!  It will be too terrible!  Love has it’s limits.”

The Son stood and said “I will do it.”  And immediately he began the process through which He would become human, suffer all the indignities of human life, and die a most horrible death to redeem the beloved.

“I will be called Jesus”, said the Son, “for I will save my people.”

And the angels bowed before Him, silent with awe.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

