Thoughts on the New Year

Almost everyone I read today on Facebook either worries about the new year, or has resolutions.  I guess having a resolution or two makes you feel like you have some kind of control.  Reading the news today however, makes me feel anything but “in control”.  From ISIS to the Stock Market, what Russia, China and Iran are doing, to local stories of shootings, robberies and riots, its as though the new year is simply a turn of the calendar page, but nothing to feel hopeful about.  Then I look at a bookmark I put in my bible and I see this:  ” I am the Lord, the God of all mankind:  is there anything too hard for me?” (Jeremiah 32:27)  I am reminded that there has never been a time in my long life when I was in control.  Any time I thought things were going my way were simply times when the Lord agreed with what I thought was good.  That actually never lasted long.  I was the poster child for “Life is what happens while you are making other plans.”   My life could turn on a dime and often did, but I have also lived a life for which I am extremely grateful, even if it was not the life I envisioned in my 20s.  Its been the life best suited to my personality.  And so, while I look at the larger world and feel things are running amok, they aren’t.  None of the problems of the family, the neighborhood, the nation or the world is beyond God’s ability to turn for the good.  “Is anything too hard for me?”  No, Lord, nothing.  So I begin the new year with hope:  not hope for what I will accomplish, but hope for what the Lord will make out of the mess we’ve left for Him to clean up.

Leave a Reply

