Death with Faith

Looking at the bible in its totality, I would have to say our whole lives are planned by God, including the day and method of our demise. Psalm 116: 5 says “Precious in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints.” Our death is a happy day for the Lord for He gets us back home. I like to imagine airport scenes, where families reunite. Jesus welcomes us warmly, because although we have been in contact perhaps a very long time, now we are face to face. Its as different as the phone is from seeing someone we love. He loves us, and He wants us together. So, no, I don’t believe we have anything to do with how we die, but we can certainly have a hopeful, positive attitude about it–that is within our capability. I am on the last stretch of life myself, and I find things down here are less and less exciting, except those things the Lord shows me He still has for me to do. I am looking more and more toward meeting my Lord.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

