It Broke God’s Heart

“When the Lord God saw the extent of human wickedness, and the trend and direction of men’s lives were only towards evil, he was sorry he had made them.  It broke his heart.”  Genesis 6:5-6

When I first saw these verses in this translation, I was so startled by them.  “It broke his heart”  just really hit me.  I guess I saw God as more distant than this.  Like many parents, I have poured myself, emotion, treasure and time into my children.  I gave them the best I had.  But when, after all that, a child goes wrong, or turns on the parent, it is truly heartbreaking.  I know that feeling, and I recognize it in the lives of other parents I know, but seeing it applied to God was emotionally wrenching for me.  I guess I thought God was somehow above having feelings for us.  I know intellectually that He loves us and cares for us, but I guess I never thought about God being so like a parent, so tender and so vulnerable that we could break His heart.  It makes me go back and look at my own life, giving me real sorrow for my sins, knowing I broke God’s heart when I went against Him.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

