Kindness as a Virtue

Kindness is the development of compassion in the heart.  Compassion is being able to genuinely listen to other’s stories and be able to see things from their perspective.  Sympathy is getting in touch with what I would feel if I were in another’s situation.  Compassion is getting in touch with what the other person is thinking and feeling in their own situation.  Its totally self-less, all about the other.  Not only must I be able to understand and feel with others, I must be willing to put myself out to relieve someone if it is in my ability to do so.  Again, while I can’t do everything, I can do something.  I must think about what I CAN do instead of focusing on what I can’t do and using that as an excuse to do nothing.  Feeling and acting with Kindness always ends up enriching me as well.  As a proverb says, “The fragrance remains on the hand that gives a rose.”

Tags: ,

One Response to “Kindness as a Virtue”

  1. bkb Says:

    I like how you define compassion as trying to see things from the other person’s perspective. It is hard sometimes for people to be open and tell their faults. I think it is so important at such times to try to refrain from judgement and to give them the compassion that they are seeking by being so open.

Leave a Reply

