God in the Dark

“But O my soul, don’t be discouraged.  Don’t be upset.  Expect God to act!  For I know that I shall again have plenty of reason to praise Him for all that He will do” Ps 42:11

Today I am remembering how Jesus said the kingdom of Heaven is like yeast–invisible until we see the effects much later, with the raising of the dough.  God seems to favor working in this way–slowly, painstakingly.  Jesus never hurried anywhere.  God also seems to work in the dark, at least as far as we are concerned.  I remember while teaching, that students occasionally asked questions that were way ahead of where the class “was”.  To answer the question properly, a lot of background would have to be covered first.  God is so far ahead of where we are.

Today I decided to thank God for being the yeast in the lives of His people, and in the history of His world.  Even when I can’t see anything happening with things for which I’ve prayed a long time, I have chosen to thank Him.  I will thank Him because I know He keeps His promises, and He has promised to hear us, to answer our prayers, and to do good for us always.  His timing will be perfect, and His work in our behalf will be perfect as well.

“For still the vision awaits its time; it hastens to the end–it will not lie.  If it seems slow, wait for it, it will surely come, it will not delay.  Habakkuk 2:3

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

