Loving my Neighbor

I came across this poem recently:

Love has a hem to her garment

that trails in the very dust.

It can reach the stains of the streets and lanes

And because it can, it must.”

This anonymous poem really makes me stop and think.  I like to think of myself as a loving, compassionate person, but am I?  Do I mostly love the lovely, the cute, the helpless?  Do I love people who are really dirty and smelly, or do I cross the street to avoid them?  Do I love people who are loud and rude?  Do I love people who are demanding and unreasonable and act as though I somehow owe them help?  The dust and stains of the streets and lanes contain plenty of dirty, smelly, loud and obnoxious people.  Can I care for them as I would care for myself?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

