The Right Tool

Mother Teresa often said “I want to be a tool in the hand of God.”   It got me to thinking about tools.  There are a few tools that get used often, and they hang in a prominent place.  I guess in the society of tools, these would be the “movers and the shakers”.  But most tools spend a lot of drawer time, not being noticed, and not being seen.  At just the right time, for just the right job, that tool will make all the difference in the world, because it will be “the right tool for the right job.”  If I want to be a tool in the hand of God, I’ve got to spend a lot of drawer time waiting for Him to use me.  During that time I can pray and worship and prepare to be used.  However, I can’t climb out of the drawer and start doing a job on my own.  I can only work correctly if I’m in His hand.  Any other attempts on my part to get out of the drawer just land me on the floor.  It kind of gives a whole new meaning to the verse from Isaiah, “They that wait upon the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with wings as eagles.  They shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”  I need to wait for his hand to guide me–then I will feel His use of me, the effort will be His and not so much mine, and it will be God who gets the glory.  Thats the way it should be.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “The Right Tool”

  1. calledsoldiers Says:

    Thank you for that, that is personally so encouraging to me. I want to do… But how and when and where is what makes all the difference. I want to be used of God, not just do what seems good, but what IS God.
    Yes faith without works is dead, but works without God is just a lot of wasted effort to no effect.

Leave a Reply

