The Love of God

The preacher proclaimed that only a tiny minority of us really believe God loves us.  We believe God loves “people”, but not that God loves “me” as a unique individual.  Because we don’t believe God could love us, we really don’t love Him a whole lot either, and so our relationship with Him is dull and lifeless.  It becomes more about trying to make ourselves worthy of His love than it is about joy in His love.

I’m so aware of my sin I don’t believe I’m very loveable.  Truth is, That IS the truth.  Its just not the whole truth.  Did I love my children when they were sick and dirty and naughty.  Yes, and sometimes I loved them more when my compassion for them kicked in.  Do I think I was a better parent than God?  And what if, after pouring myself out for my children they said they didn’t feel loved?  Wouldn’t that break my heart?  Doesn’t that break the heart of God?

Father I do believe You love me.  Help my unbelief.

Tags: ,

One Response to “The Love of God”

  1. calledsoldiers Says:

    God loves us all, but it is true that He’s angry with the wicked everyday…
    I do believe that we must have faith that God loves us, for without faith it is impossible to please God (ref. Hebrews 11:6).
    Also John agrees with you in saying, we love Him because He first loves us (1 John 4:19). If we don’t believe He loves us and loved us enough to send His only begotten Son, then we won’t love Him and our greatest commandment is to love Him with all…

Leave a Reply

