The Alabaster Jar

Jesus, today I read about the woman who broke an alabaster jar of perfume over your feet, and the criticism of the people present who thought her gesture was wasteful, and the money for that perfume could have been given to the poor.   Seeing your response of pleasure at her gift, I discern some more things.  I see extravagance we never see today.  I’ve read the perfume was possibly worth a year’s wages, and it may have been her dowry.  How many of us have hearts like that?  Her motive was pure love and she gave what she valued most.  She may not have plotted shrewdly where her gift would do “the most good”.  She simply gave out of the deepest, most beautiful desire to honor You and show her love for You.  And You were pleased.

Lord,  show me my alabaster jar.  Give me a heart to pour it out at Your feet.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

