Abiding with Jesus

I came across this bible verse the other day, and it really struck me.

“I don’t want your sacrifices, I want your love.  I don’t want your offerings, I want you to know me.”  Hosea 6:6.

It really hit me that this is written for people who have our cultural values.  We value what we do so much, we almost make an idol out of our service for the Lord.  It is so peculiarly American.  Its as though we know intellectually that we are saved by God’s grace, through the blood of Jesus, but we still don’t want to get to heaven empty handed.  We want to carry with us all the things we did for Him.  I’m not saying He doesn’t love and appreciate our service for him or the acts of love we offer others, but I wonder if we don’t overvalue them.  This verse really makes me wonder.

When my mother was widowed, my brother made a point of visiting her every Saturday morning, and would do little chores she needed done.  In fact, he asked her to keep a list for him.  One day she told me, rather wistfully, “sometimes I wish he’d forget the list and just sit and talk to me for an hour.”  I wonder if God doesn’t feel the same way.  While He appreciates our service for Him, He most of all wants us to know Him.  We can do that through spending time with Him in prayer, reading His messages to us, and responding to what He is telling us.  That is what Christians have called “two way prayer” or “conversational prayer”.  I like to go into His presence and imagine him next to me (He is there, after all).  Then I apologize to Him if I need to.  I thank Him for all He’s done for me.  I tell Him about my current situation and ask His help for me and all the people I’m worried about.  Then I ask Him what He wants to tell me.  I read some passages of scripture and ask Him about them.  Then I journal the thoughts I am having after being quiet with Him awhile.  I guess thats applying the scriptures personally.  Thats the way I do it, but I’m sure there are as many ways to spend time with Him as there are people.  However, in this scripture it seems He values our time with Him very much.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

