Burnout

Do young moms experience “burnout”.  Yes, there were times when, as much as I loved my little ones, I thought I would be ready for the “looney bin” if I didn’t get away for awhile.

I know its hard to come up with money, but we had a “fun” jar.  Whatever I could save went into the “fun” jar, and when we had enough, we got a sitter and got out of the zoo.  If you have someone you can leave your kids with–a grandma, aunt, or someone, then you don’t have to save for a sitter.  When someone asks you what you want for Christmas or your birthday, tell them “babysitting”.  You can also check out “Mothers morning out”.  A lot of large churches have it, and you don’t have to be a member of the church to sign your kids up. It just gives you 3 or 4 hours to be ALONE. You can do whatever you want that morning. I found that my “mothers morning out” plus a date with my husband once every 3 or 4 weeks kept my sanity. Also remind yourself what my dad used to say “every day in every way its getting better and better.” Some days may seem worse, but overall it does get better and better as they grow older and more independent.

Marie

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Burnout”

  1. mamajeans Says:

    Wow! Exactly what I needed to hear! It does get better..BETTER! Love that word! I shall drill this word into my head from now on, along with your clever Father’s sentence! Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

