An Unbelieving Spouse

I was saved about 3 years into our marriage.  I think my husband felt betrayed that he was getting something he hadn’t bargained for.  He really didn’t like churches or pastors.  However, he never told me not to go to church.  I followed the advice in Peter’s first epistle.  I just loved my husband and concentrated on being the best Christian woman, wife and mother I could be.  I didn’t nag my husband to go to church with me, and prayed instead.  I did tell him about things I heard in church that seemed really exciting, positive and hopeful–especially things that related to raising children or practical living, but didn’t “preach”.  I took the kids to church with me.  I waited 13 years, and during that time we both grew and so did our marriage.  When my husband finally made the decision to accept Christ, it was through talking to another man whom I’m convinced God had put into his path.  God does the work, we just have to be faithful.  I always loved this verse “For the unbelieving husband is sanctified by the wife and the unbelieving wife is sanctified by the husband; otherwise your children would be unclean, but now they are holy.”  (I Cor 7:14)  Its a mystery to me exactly what that means.   I believe it generally means God has your spouse in his sight, and He’s got both of you covered, because your marriage makes you “one flesh” and your relationship with Christ makes you and your marriage holy.  Being in that holy marriage kind of singles out your spouse for some special attention from God.

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “An Unbelieving Spouse”

  1. dishesanddiapers Says:

    What a wonderful testament of God’s sovereignty and faithfulness. What an encouragement to see your obedience to prayerfully and obediently walk with the Lord for so many years as you waited for your husband to respond to the Holy Spirit and be saved through the precious blood of our Savior. Praise God!

Leave a Reply

