I Saw Expelled Recently

I saw Expelled recently, and can understand why the atheist blogs are in such a snit over it.  It does have quite a ring of truth to it.  I can personally testify that someone I love was blacklisted from University teaching positions because he had a link to an Intelligent Design website on his personal website.  Like some of the people interviewed on Expelled, he got interviews, but the interviewer wanted to argue against Intelligent Design, not interview him.  They also mentioned visiting his personal website.

 

If academic freedom is so restricted—and it is restricted to political correctness in fields other than biology, how will we remain the innovative thinkers the world has always depended on?  How can we advance if so many fields of inquiry are closed to study?  Another person I love has been a university professor, and I am amazed at the stories of shunning and downright harassment of those who don’t tow the politically correct line.  I’m nearly convinced academic freedom is gone from most American Universities. 

 

I thought the link to Nazi Germany was frightening.  Ideas have consequences, and part of  Nazi ideology was about the superman who would evolve if inferior people were eliminated from the gene pool.  It isn’t too far away, judging by the selective abortion we’re already practicing in this country.  Scary thought for those older folks like me who may one day require care—wonder if I’ll just be “put away” by my government.

 

I thought Richard Dawkins was interesting—especially his “moral” condemnation of the “Old Testament God”.  How silly to call a God you don’t believe in a whole bunch of derogatory names—especially since making moral judgments falls in the realm of religion, which he says he doesn’t believe in.

 

What about the statistical evidence for the unlikelihood of evolution happening through random processes?  That question was never answered.  Also, what about the intermediate steps between amino acids or even proteins and a living cell?  No one answered that question either. 

 

Lastly, if our bill of rights is based on “our creator” endowing us with certain inalienable rights, what will happen to our freedom when the creator has been expelled from the country?

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “I Saw Expelled Recently”

  1. Sthomas Says:

    When it comes to the “Creator” mentioned in the Bill of Rights, anti religious people will point to the Treaty of Tripoli as proof that our country was NOT founded on Judeo-Christian beliefs.

    It was simply a document between the US and the Barbary Coast. It’s not a founding document.

    I too can relate to being a victim of political correctness in University. While in grad school I wrote a paper on human rights issues and had done research on the North Korean gulags, Nazism, the torture of Joseph Mengele etc. and was ripped apart by the panel that reviewed my paper. They attacked my ability to write a simple bibliography when those same panel members hadn’t said a word about my previous papers and bibliographies. They claimed that the human rights issues I wrote about were not appropriate to the topic given. This was an open ended assignment to be interpreted however the student wished. It was later revealed to me “under the radar” by a third party professor who read my paper that had I not been on the Honor Roll I probably would not have been cleared for graduation because of what I had written. I concluded that they were totally grasping at straws and simply wanted something to insert into my academic file.

    The establishment is afraid of anyone standing up to them and do not like those that go against the grain. Unfortunately if those in “flyover country” do not stand up to this hypocrisy, our country will be taken over by these elitists and the motto will no longer be “Freedom and Liberty for all” but “It was good while it lasted.”

Leave a Reply

