The Human Race in its Teenage Years

After spending time, recently, with my teenage grandchildren, I am reminded of all the things that made me pull my hair out as a parent of my own teenagers.  Teenagers absolutely know everything.  They insist they don’t need anyone.  If they don’t know something, they’d rather look it up on the internet or try to figure it out on their own rather than ask an adult.

I was appalled when I drove my granddaughter to a party, and she wanted me to drop her off a block down the street, because she didn’t want her friends to see her with me.  I am told its not cool to be seen with parents, or any other adult relative.  I guess the teens like to fantasize that they don’t have parents and have just always been here, never born, never babies.  They seem uninterested in anyone’s wisdom or experience.  As Will Rogers said, “Some people can learn from the experiences of others, but most have to touch the electric fence for themselves!”   Teens are sure nothing will ever happen to them, and their favorite saying is “I KNOW!”  They are so sure they know everything, they bypass, ignore or refuse to believe anything that doesn’t fit their preconceived ideas of whats cool.  They want no rules, no restrictions, no responsibilities, but if they really get into trouble, the screams for a bail out are unbearable.

What really hit me, as I was returning home, is that teenage behavior toward adults looks like much of humanity’s behavior in relation to God.  We humans insist we have all the answers, or will have, if we just work a little longer.  We have a mindset about what the world is like, and we won’t acknowledge the truth of anything that doesn’t fit our preconceived ideas about the universe.  We are sure we will one day control the whole thing.  The very idea that something got us here, or nurtured us, is abhorrent to us.  We aren’t thankful for anything–we’re sure whatever didn’t just evolve, was of our own making.  We don’t acknowledge God, don’t seek wisdom, and don’t want to acknowledge anything beyond what we understand and control.  Yet, when we fall off our scaffolding, we insist somebody is going to bail us out, somebody is going to pay.  Thats where the lawyers come in, but don’t get me started on that.  I’m sure God is slapping his forehead, wanting to hurry us on out of this stage.

Nonni

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

